logo ucf png 1

OUR PHILOSOPHY

Nature offers us a marvellous living environment whose balance is delicate. As we see it more and more, an irrational exploitation of natural resources is gradually leading us towards changes with dramatic consequences. At un chic fou, we feel that we all are responsible.

We all owe it to ourselves to do our part to minimise our impact on this environment on which we are closely dependent. No matter how small! Everyone has to do their hummingbird share!

 

OUR COMMITMENT

Our commitment is at all levels that we can control.

Since our creation in 2011, we have always produced our jewellery locally in the Greater Geneva area, thus minimising the carbon impact of our supply chain. We collaborate with local partners in the same spirit. It is also our way to support our local community.

Most of our electroplating work (gold plating, rhodium plating) is carried out in Geneva, in a family-owned, RJC-certified company. This certification from the Responsible Jewellery Council guarantees compliance with an ethical and social code, and ensures that the raw materials it works with or obtains are derived from methods that respect people and the environment.

Always with a view to minimising our environmental impact by avoiding plastic and its derivatives as much as possible, un chic fou uses natural materials for all our cords, packaging and merchandising.

The cords of our bracelets are 100% waxed cotton, 100% suede or 100% natural silk.

Our jewellery pouches are also 100% natural cotton. Our gift wrapping is also made of paper.

Finally, our merchandising consists of wooden boards, locally harvested and aged, prepared by a cabinetmaker in Geneva

We are also working on reducing the use of plastic in our mailings. We are committed to using only natural materials for these as well by 2022.

 

L1100949
b monharmonie.jpg

GIVING MEANING

It is also an ethical and social responsibility not to contribute to frantic consumerism. Producing quality jewellery, locally, that lasts over time is also a way of being responsible.

Designing by hand and producing jewellery that tells a story is our way of giving it meaning so as not to be in a disposable over-consumption that is harmful to our environment.

In the same way, we do not give in to the excess of novelty at any price. We propose one or two collections per year, contrary to what can be seen in fashion or traditional costume jewellery. A deep movement is developing among consumers to become more moderate in the way we consume and for brands to produce accordingly. un chic fou has always worked this way

We believe that everyone must do their hummingbird part to work for a better world.

OUR CAUSES

We wish to use our notoriety to serve causes that are important to us, that help others and/or serve to protect the environment.

Thus, since 2018, we have developed a collaboration with the OTIUM centre. A unique place whose aim is to accompany cancer patients – alongside medical treatment – through all those little things in life that relieve the body and the mind. A place to get together, to exchange and to do good to each other.

For them, we have created a text bracelet in rhodium-plated sterling silver or 18-carat gold-plated:

“ÉCOUTER SON COEUR BATTRE” means “LISTEN TO YOUR HEART BEATING”.

A hymn to life and the light that shines within us. As the founder, Nathalie Rossel, points out: “listening to your heart beating” means falling in love, living in the present moment, but above all it means “being”.

70% of the proceeds are donated to the OTIUM Foundation.

But un chic fou doesn’t want to stop there, we are planning another collaboration for an important cause related to the environment as early as 2021!

image8

logo ucf png 1

NOTRE PHILOSOPHIE

La nature nous offre un écrin de vie merveilleux dont l’équilibre est délicat. Nous le voyons de plus en plus, une exploitation irraisonnée des ressources naturelles nous conduit peu à peu vers des changements aux conséquences dramatiques. Chez un chic fou, nous estimons que nous sommes tous responsables.

Nous nous devons tous de faire notre part pour atténuer au maximum notre impact sur cet environnement dont nous sommes étroitement dépendants. Aussi petite soit-elle ! Chacun doit faire sa part de colibri !

NOTRE ENGAGEMENT

Notre engagement se situe à tous les niveaux que nous pouvons maîtriser.

Depuis notre création en 2011, nous avons toujours produit localement nos bijoux dans le Grand Genève, réduisant ainsi au minimum l’impact carbone de nos approvisionnements. Nous faisons appel à des partenaires locaux dans ce même esprit, ainsi que pour soutenir l’activité économique locale.

De plus, la plupart de nos travaux d’électroplastie (dorage, rhodiage) sont effectués à Genève, dans une entreprise familiale, certifiée RJC. Cette certification du Responsible Jewellery Council garantit le respect d’un code éthique et social, et assure que les matières premières qu’elle travaille ou qu’elle obtient sont issues de méthodes respectueuses de l’homme et de l’environnement.

Toujours dans cette optique de minimiser notre impact environnemental en évitant au maximum le plastique et ses dérivés, un chic fou utilise des matières naturelles pour tous nos cordons, nos emballages et notre merchandising.

Les cordons de nos bracelets sont 100% coton ciré, 100% suédine ou 100% soie naturelle.

Nos pochettes à bijoux sont, elles aussi, 100% en coton naturel. De même, nos paquets cadeaux sont en papier.

Enfin, notre merchandising se compose de planches en bois, récolté et vieilli localement, préparées par un ébéniste de Genève

Nous travaillons aussi à réduire l’utilisation de plastique pour nos envois par la poste. Nous nous engageons à ne plus utiliser que des matières naturelles pour ceux-ci également d’ici à 2022.

 

L1070426 2 scaled
L1100949
b monharmonie.jpg

DONNER DU SENS

La responsabilité éthique et sociale est aussi de ne pas contribuer à la surenchère de consommation. Produire des bijoux de qualité, localement, qui dure dans le temps est aussi une manière d’être responsable.

Dessiner et produire des bijoux qui racontent une histoire est notre façon de leur donner du sens pour ne pas être dans une surconsommation jetable néfaste à notre environnement.

De même, nous ne cédons pas à la démesure de la nouveauté à tout prix. Nous proposons une à deux collections par an, contrairement à ce que l’on peut voir dans la mode ou la bijouterie fantaisie traditionnelle. Un mouvement de fond se développe pour devenir plus mesuré dans notre façon de consommer et donc de produire pour les marques. un chic fou a toujours fonctionné de la sorte

Nous pensons que chacun doit faire sa part de colibri pour oeuvrer à un monde meilleur.

NOS CAUSES

Nous avons la volonté d’utiliser notre notoriété pour servir des causes qui nous tiennent à coeur, qui aident autrui et/ou servent à la protection de l’environnement.

Ainsi, nous avons développé, depuis 2018, une collaboration avec le centre OTIUM. Un lieu unique dont le but est d’accompagner les malades du cancer – en parallèle du traitement médical – au travers de toutes ces petites choses de la vie qui soulagent le corps et l’esprit. Un endroit pour se retrouver, échanger et se faire du bien.

Pour eux, nous avons créé un bracelet à texte en argent massif rhodié ou plaqué à l’or 18 carats :

ÉCOUTER SON COEUR BATTRE

Un hymne à la vie et à la lumière qui nous habite. Comme le souligne la créatrice, Nathalie Rossel, “écouter son coeur battre” c’est tomber amoureux, c’est vivre l’instant présent, mais surtout c’est “être”.

70% des recettes sont reversées à la Fondation OTIUM.

Mais un chic fou ne veut pas s’arrêter là, nous prévoyons une autre collaboration pour une cause importante en lien avec l’environnement dès 2021 !

image8